11 Comments
Jun 18Liked by Lane Anderson

This vid is GOLD! Also as a feminist masculinity researcher, I’m dying to know why more men aren’t getting involved. This ENRAGES me (it’s largely what’s motivated my research career). I’ve got my ideas (lack of civic engagement generally, can’t “go against” other men since it betrays the precarious, false threads of intimacy and male solidarity that patriarchy pretends to promise, they don’t “need” to care and, in fact, caring about something-ANYTHING is vulnerable and vulnerability in any way is anathema to trad. masc norms, etc) and am curious to hear from others (esp men-you know, aaaaallllll the men that are also reading this feminist parenting Substack). But seriously-PLLLLEEEAASSSSEEE CARE AND TELL US WHY YOU AND YOUR DUDES DONT SHOW UP!!!!

Expand full comment
author

YES, YES, YES! These are my same questions and if your research reveals answers, please DM me immediately! I have similar questions. Is it because they buy into the myth that patriarchy benefits them (although it hurts everyone including men), is it because the movement is "feminized" and therefore unappealing to them? Is it because they (perhaps subconsciously) feel that controlling women's bodies/patriarchy does give them a bit of superiority?

I actually love your vulnerability theory! "Caring about something-ANYTHING is vulnerable and vulnerability in any way is anathema to trad. masc norms, etc)." Totally makes sense esp in light of how many men are uncomfortably with/shirk CARE work.

Tell me what you learn!!

Expand full comment

So great! It never fails to relax my heart a little to see a man fighting publicly for feminism. I first read Gabrielle Blair’s Twitter thread like 6 years ago and I’m STILL REELING from how I had never until that moment thought to hold men responsible for unwanted pregnancies. Whhhaaaaaaaa 😩

Expand full comment
author

I had the VERY same reaction!! Like HOW have we been tricked into taking responsibility for this?!!

A uni student of mine recently did a research paper on male birth control and it’s v convincing. Like it should 100% be a thing !

Expand full comment

Oh 100%. Design Mom has me CONVINCED!

Expand full comment

genius, thanks for sharing this video!

Expand full comment
author

Glad you enjoyed it!

Expand full comment
Jun 18Liked by Lane Anderson

THANKS for this this great video. I forwarded it.

And thanks for your commentary. Just as people of color need white allies; women need male allies.

Expand full comment
author

This is exactly what the video producers said too, Ani!! Thx and thx for reading :)

Expand full comment
Jun 18Liked by Lane Anderson

Thanks for bringing this video in my life! "Nobody ever got pregnant from a vibrator": Words to remember.

Expand full comment
author

Isn't it?? More of this, please!

Expand full comment